Brand New Garden

• Tara
  • Tara's Avatar Topic Author
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
9 years 3 months ago #8219 by Tara
Tara created the topic: Brand New Garden
Hi All,
I am new to this forum and would be thrilled to get some advice from everyone.
I have recently moved into a new cottage on a farm outside Grahamstown in the Eastern Cape. The garden, with the exception of a huge orange tree, is pretty much non-existent! However, it is surrounded by areas of natural bush, and a few pineapple fields.
I have derived many happy hours watching the antics of the birds in my tiny suburban garden and I am looking forward to attracting more birds to this new, and bigger one! I would appreciate any tips and pointers as well as suggestions of specific plants. We do not have a huge amount of water available for watering and I would prefer indigenous plants where ever possible.
I'm a complete newbie when it comes to gardening so even the most basic advice is welcome!
Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• gordon
  • Visitor
  • Visitor
9 years 3 months ago #8228 by gordon
gordon replied the topic:
Hi Tara,

Welcome to the forum!

Sounds like a fantastic opportunity to shape your new garden exactly as you would like!

I would personally go with indigenous plants, focusing on those that would attract the species from the area. You should have a look at your distribution maps in the guides for which species are likely to occur in your area, decide which species you would like to attract to the garden, then do some reading up on what kinds of food (or nesting habitat) would attract those species. Roberts VII is a good place to start. Once you know what they eat, you can start planning what kind of garden you are going to encourage. A lot of birds can be quite specific when choosing their food, so you would need to find local plants with the necessary requirements to attract your chosen species.